Hyperacusis Cured/Reduced by Clomipramine

Discussion in 'Support' started by Trafalgar D, Jul 3, 2022.

1. Trafalgar D

Trafalgar D Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      acute T after loud music, chronic T after airplane flight
      Hey, what's up guys.

I have been visiting Tinnitus Talk for more than 10 years, and I decided to create an account now because it seems like I might have found something that, strangely enough, has not been discussed here yet.

Summary: I found anecdotal evidence that Clomipramine cures or greatly reduces hyperacusis.

I've broken down my post into 3 parts:

1) my story with a 20+ year old tinnitus plus new hyperacusis after COVID-19 vaccine (about 2 pages long)
      2) the reports I found by other people on a German tinnitus forum (about 3 pages long)
      3) my anecdotal experience with Clomipramine – I have been taking it for 7 weeks with great improvements

I'm not sure where this post belongs – Introduce Yourself or Hyperacusis & Ear Pain Support since I have combined both into one, maybe a mod can help me out.

The Clomipramine I got is: ANAFRANIL 75mg Clomipramine hydrochloride sustained-release tablets, for simplicity I will refer to it as Clomipramine.

Maybe I've written too many details but I figure that the more I explain, the less questions you will have.

Disclaimer: I'm not a doctor so I cannot give any medical advice, I'm simply sharing everything I found out about Clomipramine and hyperacusis, Clomipramine is ototoxic.

1) My story with tinnitus and hyperacusis