My Idiotic Tinnitus Story

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Estan, Feb 27, 2019.

1. Estan

Estan Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise-induced
      I've had tinnitus now about four months.

One thing that's really helped me cope has been reading people's accounts of the idiotic ways in which they got tinnitus. I've frustrated myself on so many occasions imagining going back in time, thinking with one quick decision I could have avoided this. Reading people's dumb stories of drunken fireworks in their ears, playing with an air horn etc. has been a strange source of comfort.

So my story:

Back in October I moved to West Africa to do some volunteering and learn French. I'm a fairly serious musician (also have always been neurotic about protecting my ears for this reason) and when I walked past a church near my place with a drumset, my eyes lit up. Talked to one of the members and was invited to play drums the following Sunday.

Show up early in the morning, and realized I'd rushed out without my earplugs which I almost always keep in my pocket. I didn't want to go back as the service was starting. Well, church in West Africa happens a bit differently--everything is mic'd and blasted through loudspeakers as if God won't be able to hear the people worshipping from his throne up in heaven unless it's at a million decibels. The soundboard had every knob maxed, the levels were all in the red, and the speakers sounded like absolute shit. Just garbage noise blasting out of them. I'm sitting at the drumset with the conductor giving me looks like 'play louder' (during our practices he kept angrily telling me to play louder. Again, God won't hear otherwise). Then they ask me to play bass and now I'm standing directly in front of one of the loudspeakers. I tried to move out of the way, but I was blocking the view of the choir and didn't want to be disrespectful.