Noise-Induced Tinnitus from Using Earbuds / AirPods Pro at Loud Volumes?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by New-To-T, Oct 9, 2021.

1. New-To-T

New-To-T Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Sep 3 2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noice Induce(Airpods Pro) ?
      Hello all, I apologize in advance for any mistakes/typos as English is not my first language. I have been lurking around since first week of September 2021; the same time period I started experiencing tinnitus in right ear. It was very low ringing noise but was able to ignore it and managed to get sleep that night. Later after a week I got an appointment with ENT, checked my ears and did a lot of blood work. My hearing was normal with a small dip at 12 kHz which I suspect this is causing my tinnitus. He also found I have a very low Vitamin D and asked me to take Vitamin D supplements.

After 5 weeks, I can still hear the ringing in both ears. I have been playing mobile games with Bluetooth earbuds since November 2019 at high volume, never had any ear issues until I switched to AirPods Pro a few months ago; I still remember the day, it was September 3. After playing a mobile game for 1-2 hours with AirPods Pro at max volume, I had fullness in my ears, took a hot shower and felt instant relaxation. Later the same day I played the game with AirPods Pro again and around 2-3 am I started hearing the ringing sound in my right ear and it's been ringing constantly at same loudness ever since.

I am looking for positive stories of anyone who has similar noise-induced tinnitus so it can give me some hope.

Thanks for reading my post.

2. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      Hi @New-To-T.