Tinnitus from Age 12 — This Summer I Went from One Tinnitus Tone to Five Tones

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by MartinPihl, Oct 19, 2021.

1. MartinPihl

MartinPihl Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unkown
      Hi all.

Long time lurker, first time poster. I just HAD to come out with my story NOW!

First off: THANK you community - you guys/girls really keep the hope going, and makes me fell like I'm not alone! I really mean that.

Second - English is not my mother tongue (although I love the language), so I apologize for spelling mistakes.

Okay... So:

I've had in-head tinnitus since I was 12.

This summer, three things happened.

1) I work as a teacher in Denmark. All children returned to school just before the summer vacation - and in that time, being at work was LOUD!!! The children hadn't seen each other for a long time, and summer vacation was just around the corner.

2) I fell and hit the back of my head into concrete.

3) I had my COVID-19 vaccine.

Whatever the cause, I went from 1 middle-head tone, to 3 tones in the left ear and 1 in the right ear (plus the one in the middle of my head).

Now, question 1:
      When I've had a shower, my tinnitus just rise to absurd levels - anyone else experienced that? And what in the world is the solution? It's not like i just can stop taking showers...

Okay, this post is getting long. Dear reader, I hope I still have your attention.

Tinnitus sufferers with small children... I'm... just seeking advice. How do you handle your child crying/screaming in your worst ear? I know it's a paradoxical question - because, of course you cannot avoid that. But still... maybe someone has a good advice?

And the last thing - if any other teachers out there have tinnitus - I recommend in-ear noise cancelling earbuds. I will say to you: it is a blessing to be able to cancel the noise when the children get to loud!!

I wish my fellow tinnitus sufferers a good day/night.