Tinnitus No Longer Bothers Me

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by Jazzer, Apr 24, 2023.

1. Jazzer

Jazzer Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      1/1995
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise
      My noise-induced tinnitus remains at about 60 decibels, when voice matched. I have had tinnitus since 1992, and it was fairly mild to start with. I have been a professional brass player since 1962 - trombone and trumpet. An acquaintance blasted an instrument directly into my face in June 2014. On waking the following morning I was in ‘HELL...!!!’

I asked my lovely wife to take me to Dignitas. She said, “Dave I would do anything to help you - but never that. I know that it must be terrible, but you have to be bigger than tinnitus.”

I’ll cut a long story short. Sylvie achieved a diploma in clinical hypnotherapy at King’s College Hospital, London (2002). On a jazz week in Salabrenia in Spain, my tinnitus was ragging. I told Sylvia during the afternoon, that I didn’t think I could go on stage that evening. This would have jeopardised the entire booking, and my career.

We went to our bedroom, Sylvie hypnotised me, and gave me a subliminal suggestion that my tinnitus would recede into the background, and would begin to bother me less and less. I was able to appear, and continued performing on stages, jazz clubs, international festivals, cruise ships etc... using earplugs throughout each performance, but easing them out of the ear when playing a trombone feature when tone and execution were absolutely vital.

In 2017 I decided to leave my beloved profession to minimise the risk of further damage.

My tinnitus level has not dropped by even 1 dB since 2014.