You Can Do It Too — My Tips to Beating Tinnitus!

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by Youcandoit, Dec 2, 2019.

1. Youcandoit

Youcandoit Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/15
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Medications
      This is my story of tinnitus and the road to habituation and normality.

I am a Medical Doctor who developed severe tinnitus shortly after commencing the SSRI Lexapro (Escitalopram) after a period of prolonged work stress.

I have no doubt the SSRI precipitated the tinnitus which is backed up by recent studies demonstrating increased serum Serotonin levels having an excitatory effect on the neurons within the Dorsal Cochlear Nucleus which is a known sound processing area in the brain stem that is intimately involved in the generation of the tinnitus perception.

Tinnitus is a reported adverse effect in 1-2% of people on SSRIs and I suspect those that develop tinnitus on SSRIs probably have a genetic predisposition.

My tinnitus started about 5 days after commencing a low dose of Lexapro which I immediately stopped in the hope it would go away. To my dismay and absolute horror, it DIDN’T go away.

My tinnitus is a very loud high pitch electrical sound which is always present. Due to its extremely high frequency, when I choose to hear it (note my choice of word ‘choose’ which I will elaborate upon later) I can hear it anywhere including on a plane with the engines at full throttle.

My initial reaction to the tinnitus was extremely negative and one verging on panic. I despised the noise and felt my life was ruined. I could not envisage being able to concentrate or enjoy anything with this blaring @@##G constant loud noise in my head. Getting through a day’s work was extremely taxing and it was putting great strain on my already fragile mental state and relationships.