Non-Stop Tinnitus for 3 Days — It Started After I Took Out My Earphones After Listening to Music

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by bethadtr, Jul 12, 2020.

1. bethadtr
      Balanced

bethadtr Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/07/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud Earphone Use
      Hi everyone,

I’m new to all of this but I am freaking out. I’ve always been quite wary of my hearing as I spent a lot of my teenage years blasting music in my ears, attending gigs, and going clubbing.

The other night, I took my earphones out after listening to music, and my ears were ringing unbearably. Normally, this ringing would subside after a few hours or the next morning. However, it hasn’t stopped.

I have a very faint, very very high pitched (almost like a white noise sound) I’m both of my ears that is constant. I can only really hear it when I concentrate on it, in quiet rooms, or at night. However, I suffer with severe health anxiety so I can’t seem to take my mind off it.

It’s now been 3 days since the ringing started, and I’m really starting to worry that this is for life. I can’t function or concentrate, and I’m always focusing on it 24 hours a day.

I went to the doctors and they looked down my ears and found no infection or build up of wax, so I’m worried it is noise-induced hearing loss.

I’ve also had a feeling of fullness and slight aching in my ears too, which hasn’t helped.

I would appreciate any reassuring words or help right now, I haven’t stopped crying - I feel like I can never be normal again.

Many thanks in advance :)

• Hug Hug x 5
    2. Tatsopa

Tatsopa Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      2005 (Onset) 05/2020 (Worsening)
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      No clue
      Hi,

From what you've described, this may be a noise trauma (consecutive to headphone use). The ringing, ear fullness and pain mean your ears have been hurt.