DJ at Young Age, and Now Got Tinnitus from Loud Music at a Party

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Thomas_83, Nov 22, 2021.

1. Thomas_83

Thomas_83 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud noise
      Hello. Sorry for my English but I'll try to correct myself.

I'm 2 months into my tinnitus now, that started 2 days after a party while I was DJing for fun for about an hour.

I'm 42 years old now. 15 years ago I was a pro DJ. Played with many big names in the EDM industry. But have not played since.

When I was DJing in the twenties, I did not use any ear protection. 5 years into my career I got myself some moulded earplugs (tip from another DJ) with 15 dB filters. That helped a lot and I use them at every concert, or loud parties.

I also use Peltor/3M protectors at work and the DIY projects.

Then, 15 years later I went to a party and did not have the earplugs on me. A little alcohol and 1 hour of DJing caused my tinnitus.

I woke up 2 days later and could hear a sound like a little fan on my left ear. As the days went by, I developed panic attacks and felt like my ears were going inside out. I could hear the buzzing from any electrical component i the house. It got so critical that I lost the perception of sound for an hour. And the fan noise got in to a high pitched iiiii.

If I drove in a tunnel, the air pressure made my ears hurt, and I got tinnitus spikes.

I can tell you that I am bipolar, and that does not help me with anxiety. I was planning to kill myself because of this. But I have kids that I love so much so that was not an option.

I went to two different doctors and they could not see any hearing loss. I actually have 5% better hearing now since the last hearing test 2 years earlier.

I do not have hyperacusis, and the tinnitus goes away for about an hour a day. But it remains a high pithed iiiii. I would say 4/10 now.

I've now been two months sick leave.

So that's me.